Spreading Hope…a hat at a time.

lung

Vanessa and I (and our families, of course) have both been affected by lung cancer and it’s aftermath.   Vanessa recently lost her grandmother and I lost my mother-in-law in 2005 to lung cancer.   Death is just horrible and leaves a hole with its finality.

Death has rocked my family to its core.  Since we lost my mother-in-law in 2005, we have been in the grieving process… and boy is it a process!  It’s unique for each individual, as unique as the relationships we built.  No one grieves the same way or the same time and there is not a “right” or “wrong” way to grieve.  Grief is difficult, but can be just impossible if you repress the grief – sadness or anger.  We have learned that you should not bury your feelings down- allowing ourselves to mourn is essential to healing.  Healing is essential to loving  (yourself and others) once again.

Remember, in this post (link), when I said in June, we celebrate many angels.  My mother-in-law’s birthday is June 19th, a day before my daughter.  I have fond memories of combined birthday celebrations for these 2 lovely ladies.  Mama, since all her grandchildren called her that, we did as well, was a gentle but strong, kind and funny lady who fought lung cancer bravely and with a fierce faith.  I remember being pregnant with my son, and she told my husband that she was waiting to meet her grandson.  He was born, adored, kissed and loved for 6 months before she earned her angel wings.

We will donate this hat to the adult chemotherapy transfusion center in the near future, as we collect more for this delivery.  We hope that it will bring hope to someone fighting lung cancer.
~Pali

Comments on: "Lung Cancer Awareness" (6)

  1. My dad was only 56 when he died of Lung Cancer… Miss him so much

    Like

  2. This blog and what you guys are doing is absolutely awesome! I lost my mom to stage iv nsclc in 2012. Still so recent to me and yes, grief is heavy at times. But I have found my motivation and that’s being a lung cancer advocate. I started my blog when things got really bad for mom in 2011. From the point forward I knew that I could never go back to my old career in college sports, but decided that working in healthcare administration was the only way i knew how to improve the landscape of health care and hard part of dealing with a nasty disease like cancer.

    If you are on twitter, you should definitely search #lcsm, which is lung cancer social media. We started a chat which involved many advocates and medical professionals. It’s an awesome community and we are all learning how to navigate this together.

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words! I am sorry to hear about your mother… it is very difficult, but glad you turned it into advocacy! I searched #lcsm and will add it to my saved searches. Thank you for the information and connecting. We just followed your blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

