Spreading Hope…a hat at a time.

purples

This was created in honor of my sister-in-law, for her birthday (6/30) and for her courageous fight against this horrible disease! June is a particularly difficult month for my family now, but it used to be completely different.  We used to slightly groan about how it felt like Christmas in June, and how expensive it was for us as a young couple.  God created so many wonderful people in the month of June: my father-in-law, my mother-in-law, my daughter, my brother, my nephew and sister-in-law.  We lost my mother-in-law to Lung Cancer in 2005, my father-in-law to ALS in 2009, and my sister-in-law to Pancreatic Cancer in 2012.  Oh, how I wish my problem was figuring out what to get them for their birthday instead of missing each of them so much.

Shortly, I will take this hat (and some others) to the adult oncology infusion center, where Wanda used to receive her chemotherapy.  I hope that it will bring courage, inspiration and hope to a chemo warrior in their fight against pancreatic cancer!
~Pali

Comments on: "Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Ribbon" (7)

  1. Jay Wilson said:

    Did u start tearing up when u wrote this???

    Like

    • I tried to keep the tears at bay- that is why it’s short. I really have much more I want to say about our wonderful June angels…. but that would be opening the floodgates. I hope one day I will be able to communicate without crumbling.

      Like

  2. Oh, I am so sorry for your loss. I have walked through these dark days, and there is just no easy way around them. It’s just so hard. But,I know that your act of kindness will bring a smile (and quite possibly a tear) to someone’s face, and I hope that in turn, you will be blessed by the smile too.
    God Bless you through these hard days ahead. Remember the good times, and try and make that your focus. Hang in there!

    Like

    • Thank you Becky for your kind words and sentiments. Yes it is hard, and I am not a great writer. But thank you for understanding these dark days. Thanks again for your comment.

      Like

  3. What you are doing brings joy to others even as you cope with your own losses.. I take my hat off to you….. So well done…

    Like

    • 🙂 Thank you. I wish I was more inspired to pump out these hats– but sometimes it’s slow progress. But one step at a time, I guess

      Like

  4. […] in this post (link), when I said in June, we celebrate many angels.  My mother-in-law’s birthday is June 19th, a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

