Spreading Rays of Hope…a hat at a time

Minion Hat

Image

I know that kids love the Minions in the movie Despicable Me so I decided that I would attempt to create a Minion Hat!  Above is my Minion creation.

To create the hat I used two balls of yellow yarn and started wrapping the brim using the rib stitch (2 pegs knit 2 pegs purl). After the fourth row I began to do the e-wrap . To close the hat I used the drawstring method which I learned from this wonderful video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoizvzKpBBA.

To create the goggle glasses I changed the color on the hat to black once I had about 4 inches completed. I then changed back to the yellow color after I completed about 1 inch of the black. I continued on with the yellow for about 2 more inches.  When I create that hat again I think that it would be better to start the black yarn at more about 3 to 3½ inches to lower it just slightly. I think that the hat is a little long for a toddler, which is what I had in mind. But it would be perfect dimensions for a teen.

To create the eyes I decided to crochet them. I created my own pattern which is described below:

Starting with black yarn

Ch 5, sl st into the 1st ch to form a ring.

Round 1: 1sc in each chain stitch (total 5 sc).

Round 2: Change to white yarn 2 sc in each of the stitches (total 10 sc).

Round3: 2 sc in each of the previous (total 20sc).

Round 4: Change to silver yarn using two strands at a time 2 sc in each of the previous stitches (total 40 sc).

I decided to double the yarn for the gray to make the goggle piece a bit thicker to make it pop out a little more.

It was definitely not easy creating the eyes for my Minion.  My first attempt is pictured below:

Image

It came out okay. My second attempt however, did not match my first so I tried again.

My third attempt pictured below:

Image

Was a total failure as you can see.  I’m not sure what went wrong so I tried again. The fourth eye I created luckily matched the second eye creation enough for me to stop my endless eye making. I then took my two best eyes and sewed them onto the hat placing them near the black band to make it appear that the Minion is wearing goggles like in the movie.

I referenced a few videos in order to create this hat and those were:

How to create a chain stitch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtmOEzm_OXQ

How to join yarn: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MKVB-wl5MI

How to e-wrap: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIEEFivVjg8

How to do a rib stitch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myfEBcgmhGk&feature=related

Hopefully, this inspires you to create a hat of your own!
~Vanessa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

